Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Report @ AGM on 04 May 2010

AGM ON 4 MAY 2010

Report by Angeline Lee, Secretary

Friendship Toastmasters Club members were gathered on 4 May 2010 for our Annual General Meeting (AGM) to elect our club officers for 2010/2011.

We started with the presentation of these reports:
1. President Report by Ben Fong
2. VPE Report by Zaiton Zainal Abidin
3. VPM Report by Ben Fong
4. VPPR Report by Angeline Lee
5. Secretary Report by Angeline Lee
6. Treasurer Report by Khairul Hassan
7. SAA Report by Sivadas

The minutes of the 2 June 2009 AGM as well as the above reports were adopted.

Friendship members at our AGM

Nominating Chair Tan Lay Theng then announced the candidates for the various club officer positions and the club election was carried out.


Our new Exco team for 2010/2011 term is as follows:

President - Zaiton Zainal Abidin
VPE – Angeline Lee
VPM – Chor Chee Hoe
VPPR – Alexandra Lau
Secretary – Vincent Wong
Treasurer – Chor Wai Yee
SAA – Sivadas

With the main agenda of the meeting completed, we then took a short break. When the meeting resumed, Grace Tan hosted the proceeding as our Toastmaster of the Evening.

TME Grace Tan

Angeline Lee delivered project speech no. 1 The Goodwill Speech from the Public Relations manual. Speaking on “Be the Speaker You Dream Of”, she began with the reason she joined Toastmasters and ended with

Toastmasters provides us with the biggest room in the world - the biggest room for improvement. This room will never run out of space for me, for you, for people who wish to conquer their fears of failure, who dream of being a better speaker. Join us in this room because just like me, you don’t have to face your fears alone.

Evaluator KC Lim did an impromptu evaluation as the evaluation was immediately after the speech was delivered. In his opinion, the message to encourage non-Toastmasters to join the growing number of 220,000 Toastmasters world-wide was elegantly presented, and not a hard-sell as required by the project objectives.

Next, Area W7 Governor Tan Lay Theng handed out the TLI1 and TLI2 Attendance Certificates to our current team of club officers.

President Ben Fong receiving his TLI Attendance certificates

Our Area Governor also handed out Division W Membership Award to our hard-working Treasurer Khairul Hassan. This award from Division W is in recognition of clubs who have submitted 20 or more membership dues by 30 March 2010.

Treasurer Khairul receiving the Division W Membership Award from Area Governor Tan Lay Theng

Our next meeting will be held on 18 May 2010. With Past District Governor Low Yat Seow DTM as our General Evaluator and KC Lim attempting project no. 1 from the Facilitating Discussion manual, it will certainly not be just another ordinary meeting.

Join us on the 18th and find out more on “To Thine Own Self Be True”.




No comments: